membershipProvider="OmidIDMembershipProvider" and "Default Membership Provider could not be found"

Jun 26, 2012 at 1:35 AM

Hello. I had gotten your project working several times with various configurations of the Samples using my own databases.

But when I tried to get it working with my own project I was receiving "Default Membership Provider could not be found."

Like a blind man I just started stepping through the code (I am pretty new to MVC) and I got to about Line 61 in EFRoleProvider.cs, where the error would happen. It was not finding a value for "membershipProvider" in the config.

I added this value to the attributes of the "<add name="OmidIDRoleProvider"..." tag in the 

<roleManager enabled="true" defaultProvider="OmidIDRoleProvider">
      <providers>

That worked. I hope this helps someone else, or if this is not the right solution I hope someone can help me.

Thanks!

Jun 26, 2012 at 5:18 PM

After including the project in my solution and modifying the web.config I am able to get the EFMembership provider to work with my code and data. I can see in the code that it is the OmidIDMembershipProvider that is being used. 

I don't yet understand how to add columns to the Memebership User. I have FirstName and LastName added to the table and I have added the properties to the Default/AspNet/AspUser.cs file. But I think I am supposed to create this file in my project and then pass it to the EFMembershipProvider?

So the steps would be:

1. Modify the web config to point to the OmidIDMembershipProvider and OmidIDRoleProvider.
  2. Create a User class and Role class that implement the base MembershipUser and Membership role and the UserRole join class (or dose it just need the base properties?).
  3. Create Mappers that maps all the properties and implements IUserMapper, IRoleMapper and IUserRoleMapper interfaces.
  4. Then it should be working?
Coordinator
Jun 26, 2012 at 6:19 PM

Hi.